In July 1994, Moi University, in concert with the clarion call of the Mackay Report of 1981, established a Faculty of Law, which later matured into a School.  This bold step was taken with particular interest in promoting “social justice” and expanding educational opportunities for Kenyans.

The first groups of students were admitted in September of the same year, with a teaching staff establishment of three.  Since then, the student number has risen to one thousand plus.

The School’s location in the prime farmlands of Rift Valley offers a serene environment conducive for learning.  Only 5 km from Eldoret town along the Eldoret-Nakuru highway it is easily accessible to students from across the Eastern Africa region.  With a student population of about 1700 from diverse backgrounds the school provides a vibrant crucible for the synthesis of ideas.  The School has modern lecture halls and seminar rooms and a well-equipped law library with internet access.  Catering services are provided by the student cafeteria at subsidized rates although alternative establishments exist within walking distance.

Today, the School of Law is proud of being the first and perhaps the only School of Law in the country to adopt a clinical approach to the teaching of law.  Students are exposed to a more practical as opposed to theoretical teaching methodology.  This is mainly through the use of simulations, moot courts and clinical externships and seminars.  The School has been a regular participant in both international and local moot court competitions. These include: The All Africa Human Rights Moot Court, The African Trade Moot, The East African International Law Moot, and The International Humanitarian Law Moot.

 Our students participate in a judicial attachment program at the end of their 2nd Year of study. The attachment provides a link between the formative years of legal training and the more concrete clinical oriented phase in the 3rd and 4th year of study.

The School of Law is headed by a Dean who is the Administrative and Academic Head of the School.  Assisting the Dean on day-to-day administrative matters are four Heads of Departments and two Administrative Assistants.

Key Milestones

1994 Established as a Faculty of Law, which later matured into a School
Designed by Moi University ICT Department